First Philippine Republic

First Philippine Republic

Former Country
Former Country Less

First Philippine Republic

to get instant updates about 'First Philippine Republic' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Philippine Republic (), more commonly known as the First Philippine Republic or the Malolos Republic was a short-lived insurgent revolutionary government in the Philippines. It was formally established with the proclamation of the Malolos Constitution on January 23, 1899 in Malolos, Bulacan, and endured until the capture and surrender of Emilio Aguinaldo to the American forces on March 23, 1901 in Palanan, Isabela, which effectively dissolved the First Republic.

The establishment of the Philippine Republic was the culmination of the Philippine Revolution against Spanish rule. Independence was declared on June 12, 1898. A dictatorial government headed by Emilio Aguinaldo was proclaimed on 18 June, and replaced on 23 June by a revolutionary government, also headed by Aguinaldo. The Malolos Congress convened on 15 September, and produced the Malolos Constitution. In the meantime, on December 10, 1898, the Treaty of Paris had been signed, ending the Spanish-American War. Article 3 of the treaty transferred the Philippines from Spain to the United States. (December 10, 1898), The Avalon Project at Yale Law...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Country
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from