Flag of the Federated Malay States

Flag Of The Federated Malay States

Flag of the Federated Malay States

to get instant updates about 'Flag Of The Federated Malay States' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The flag of the Federated Malay States (Negeri Negeri Melayu Bersekutu) represented the union of the four Malay states of Selangor, Perak, Negeri Sembilan and Pahang in a federation as a protectorate under the British Crown.

The flag was striped horizontally with an overall 1:2 to ratio with white stripe at the top, red, yellow and black at the bottom. In the center was a white oblong, with a horizontal major axis, and a Malayan tiger () leaping, face to the left.

In addition to a state flag, the Federated Malay States also had a naval ensign. The ensign, with the four colors of the FMS, was flown by HMS Malaya (commanded by Captain Boyle under the 5th Battle Squadron of the British Grand Fleet) during the Battle of Jutland in the North Sea, which was the largest and the only full scale clash of battleships during World War One.

The colors and the four stripes represented the four states of the federation. The colors white, red, yellow and black represented the colors used in the flag of the four states;

  • Red and Yellow for Selangor
  • White, Yellow and Black for Perak
  • Red, Black and Yellow for Negeri Sembilan
  • White and Black for Pahang

<br clear="all" />

See also

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from