Florida Department of Transportation

Florida Department Of Transportation

Government Agency
Government Agency Less

Florida Department of Transportation

to get instant updates about 'Florida Department Of Transportation' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) is a decentralized agency charged with the establishment, maintenance, and regulation of public transportation in the state of Florida. The department was formed in 1969. It absorbed the powers of the Florida State Road Department (SRD). The current Secretary of Transportation is Ananth Prasad.


The Florida Transportation Commission, made up of nine commissioners chosen by Florida's Governor and Legislature, provides oversight for FDOT.

Each of FDOT's eight semi-autonomous districts is managed by a District Secretary. Following the 2002 legislation, the Turnpike District (now known as Florida's Turnpike Enterprise) secretary became known as an executive director.

There are seven geographic districts, and the Florida's Turnpike Enterprise (FTE). The FTE owns and maintains 460-miles of toll roads, excluding the Sunshine Skyway Bridge, Alligator Alley, Orlando-Orange County Expressway Authority, and the Pinellas Bayway System, which are owned and managed by the local FDOT districts. Tolls on those facilities, however, are collected by the FTE.

In addition, the FDOT operates and manages several park and ride lots and Commuter Assistance Programs throughout the state. Most of the 7 geographic distircts have a Districtwide Commuter Assistance Program.

On March 5, 2003, Governor Jeb Bush appointed José Abreu, P.E., as Secretary of Transportation.<ref...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Government Agency
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from