Formula Three Sudamericana

Formula Three Sudamericana

Motorsport Championship
Motorsport Championship Less

Formula Three Sudamericana

to get instant updates about 'Formula Three Sudamericana' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Formula Three Sudamericana is the official name for the South American Formula Three Championship. It was inaugurated in 1987 and currently holds events in Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay. Its most notable graduates include former Formula One drivers Nelson Piquet, Jr., Ricardo Zonta and Christian Fittipaldi, three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Hélio Castroneves, and Champ Car champion and former F1 driver Cristiano da Matta.


Prior to the creation in 1987 of a regional Formula Three championship in South America, the Codasur championship was held annually between 1983 and 1986. This series utilised chassis of Formula Two specification, which was still actively used in Europe until 1985, but with modified engines that were much more highly tuned. Each of the four drivers' championship titles went to Guillermo Maldonado of Argentina. Maldonado, like many of his contemporaries, also functioned as a team owner.

In response to the replacement of Formula Two with Formula 3000 in Europe, the Codasur Championship's team owners and the governing bodies of national motorsport in the region began collectively to discuss its replacement with a current European or worldwide formula. They wanted a formula that would provide young South American drivers with experience that would be relevant when, or if, they had the opportunity to further their career internationally. Also contributing to the impetus for...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Motorsport Championship
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from