Fort Myers Sun Sox

Fort Myers Sun Sox

Fort Myers Sun Sox

to get instant updates about 'Fort Myers Sun Sox' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Fort Myers Sun Sox were one of the eight original franchises that began play in the Senior Professional Baseball Association in 1989. The Sun Sox finished their inaugural season in second place in the Southern Division with a 37-35 record. Their offense was led by the league's top hitter, Tim Ireland, who hit .374, and the circuit's stolen base leader, Kim Allen, who has 33 steals. Amos Otis added 11 homers. Unfortunately, the Sun Sox were eliminated by the Bradenton Explorers in the playoffs. The following season, ownership squabbles in Fort Myers caused the Sun Sox to fold and the league to cease operations less than halfway through its second season.

Home Ballpark: Terry Park

Manager: Pat Dobson

Coaches: Joe Coleman, Tony Torchia

1989 Opening Day Roster:

PITCHERS: Doug Bird, Rich Gale, Wayne Garland, Don Hood, Dave LaRoche, Dennis Leonard, Steve Luebber, Steve McCatty, Eric Rasmussen, Rick Waits

CATCHERS: Marty Castillo, Tim Hosley, Ron Pruitt

INFIELDERS: Kim Allen, Dan Driessen, Tim Ireland, Ron Jackson, Pat Putnam

OUTFIELDERS: Dave Collins, Larry Harlow, Bob Jones, Rick Manning, Amos Otis, Tom Spencer

DISABLED LIST: Dick Drago, Jim Slaton, Champ Summers

Other Players: Alan Ashby

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from