Free State cricket team

Free State Cricket Team

Free State cricket team

to get instant updates about 'Free State Cricket Team' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Free State cricket team (formerly Orange Free State cricket team) is the first-class cricket team representing the province of Free State (known as Orange Free State until 1995) in South Africa.

For the purposes of the SuperSport Series, Free State has merged with Griqualand West to form the Eagles cricket team franchise.


  • Currie Cup (3) - 1992–93, 1993–94, 1997–98 ; shared (0) -
  • Standard Bank Cup (4) - 1988–89, 1993–94, 1994–95, 1995–96
  • South African Airways Provincial Three-Day Challenge (0) -
  • South African Airways Provincial One-Day Challenge (1) - 2004–05
  • Gillette/Nissan Cup (2) - 1991–92, 1992–93

Club history

The team was called Orange Free State from January 1904 to April 1995; it has been part of the Eagles from October 2004.


Venues have included:
  • Ramblers Cricket Club Ground, Bloemfontein (Jan 1904 - Feb 1986)
  • South African Railways Club Old Ground, Bloemfontein (Jan 1938 - Dec 1939)
  • Welkom Mines Recreation Ground (occasional venue Nov 1954 - Nov 1963)
  • University of Orange Free State Ground, Bloemfontein (Oct 1986 - Dec 1993)
  • Harmony Gold Mine Cricket Club A Ground, Virginia (four matches Nov 1986 - Sept 1991)
  • Goodyear Park, Bloemfontein (Oct 1989–present)
  • Rovers Cricket Club, Welkom (two games 1981 - 1985)


  • South African Cricket Annual – various editions
  • Wisden Cricketers' Almanack – various editions

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from