Friends Provident Trophy

Friends Provident Trophy

Cricket Tournament Main
Cricket Tournament Main Less

Friends Provident Trophy

to get instant updates about 'Friends Provident Trophy' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Friends Provident Trophy was a one-day cricket competition in the United Kingdom.

It was one of the four tournaments in which the eighteen first-class counties compete each season. They were joined by teams from Scotland and Ireland. Lancashire won the title a record seven times.

The competition has previously been known as the C&G Trophy (2000–2006), the NatWest Trophy (1981–2000) and the Gillette Cup (1963–1980). For a short period following the 2006 season, the competition was known as the ECB Trophy because no sponsors were forthcoming when Cheltenham and Gloucester decided to end their association with the competition after the 2006 season. The tournament, along with the Pro40 forty-overs competition, was replaced by the Clydesdale Bank 40 competition from the 2010 season.


It was the first top level one day competition to be introduced in English and Welsh cricket, amid concern about falling attendances at County Championship matches in the early 1960s.

The competition was based on the Midlands Counties Knockout Cup experiment of the 1962. Where Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire and Nottinghamshire played a one-innings-a-side which lasted one day. The TCCB decided to hold a limited over competition (65 overs-a-side) the following year for all first-class counties sponsored by American safety razor company Gillette. The original title was called "The First Class Knock Out Competition for the Gillette...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Cricket Tournament Main
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from