G6 (EU)

to get instant updates about 'G6 (EU)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The G6 (Group of Six) in the European Union is an unofficial group of the interior ministers of the six European Union member statesGermany, France, United Kingdom, Italy, Spain, and Poland – with the largest populations and so with the majority of votes in the Council of the European Union. The G6 was established in 2003 as G5 to deal with immigration, terrorism and law and order., BBC News In 2006, Poland joined the group, making it the G6.

Under the third pillar of the EU, Police and Judicial Co-operation in Criminal Matters, powers are largely intergovernmental; this is the one EU policy area where there is no Commission monopoly on proposing law. In other policy areas, the Commission can usually create balance among the states, but in this one, the G6 has a great deal of influence over the Commission.

Nicolas Sarkozy has called on the G6 to lead the Union following the dilution of the Franco-German motor after the 2004 enlargement of the European Union., Financial Times The lack of transparency and accountability of the G6 has been criticised by a number of figures, notably by a report by the UK's House of Lords., House of Lords, United Kingdom

See also

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from