Gauhati High Court

Gauhati High Court

_High_Court Less

Gauhati High Court

to get instant updates about 'Gauhati High Court' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Gauhati High Court () was established on 1 March 1948 after the Government of India Act 1935 was passed. It was originally known as the High Court of Assam and Nagaland, but renamed as Gauhati High Court in 1971 by the North East Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971.

It has largest jurisdiction in terms of states, with its area covering the states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura and Mizoram.

Prinicipal seat and benches

The principal seat of the Gauhati High Court is at Guwahati in Assam. The court has 6 outlying benches. These are:
  1. The Kohima bench for Nagaland state (established on 1 December 1972)
  2. The Imphal bench for Manipur state (established on 24 January 1972)
  3. The Agartala bench for Tripura state of (established on 24 January 1972)
  4. The Shillong bench for Meghalaya state (established on 4 September 1974)
  5. The Aizawl bench for Mizoram state (established on 5 July 1990)
  6. the Itanagar bench for Arunachal Pradesh state (established on 12 August 2000)

The Chief Justice and the judges

The current Chief Justice is Madan Lokur. Previously, he was the senior most judge at the Delhi High Court. The court has a sanctioned judge strength of 27.


After the Indian independence, the Assam Legislative Assembly adopted a resolution on 9 September 1947 that a High Court be established for the Province of Assam. In exercise of power conferred by the Government of India Act 1935, the Governor General of India on 1 March 1948...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from