Georgia State Senate

Georgia State Senate


Georgia State Senate

to get instant updates about 'Georgia State Senate' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Georgia State Senate is the upper house of the Georgia General Assembly (the state legislature of Georgia, USA).


According to the state constitution of 1983, this body is to be composed of no more than 56 members elected for two-year terms. Current state law provides for 56 members. Elections are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November in even-numbered years.

Senators must be at least 25 years old, a citizen of the United States, and a resident of Georgia for two years and their senatorial district for one year (preceding the election). The highest position in the Senate is the President of the Senate, a position currently held by Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle. The second highest position is that of President Pro Tempore, currently held by Senator Tommie Williams.


The presiding officer of the Senate is the President of the Senate. A President Pro Tempore, usually a high ranking member of the majority party, acts as President in case of the temporary disability of the President. In case of the death, resignation, or permanent disability of the President or in the event of the succession of the President to the executive power, the President Pro Tempore becomes President. The Senate also has as an officer the Secretary of the Senate.

Members of the Senate

List of Committees

  • Agriculture and Consumer Affairs
  • Appropriations
  • Banking and Financial Institutions
  • Economic Development
  • Education and Youth
  • Ethics
  • Finance
  • Health......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from