Gilgit District

Gilgit District

Settlement Less

Gilgit District

to get instant updates about 'Gilgit District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Gilgit District is one of the districts of the federal territory of Gilgit-Baltistan in northern Pakistan. It was formed in 1970 when Gilgit-Baltistan was federally administered as the "Northern Areas". It is bounded by the Wakhan Corridor (Afghanistan) to the north; Xinjiang (China) to the northeast and east; Skardu, Astore and Diamer to the south; and Ghizar District to the west. The town of Gilgit is the capital of Gilgit District. According to the 1998 census Gilgit District had a population of 243,324.

The district includes Gilgit town, Gojal (Upper Hunza), Hunza, Juglot, Naltar, Nomal, and Shimshal. It also includes many small villages like Minapin, Hope and Hispar etc. The highest peak in the district is Distaghil Sar (7,885m) which is the seventh highest peak in Pakistan and 19th highest on earth.


The Government of Pakistan has recently changed the status of the Northern Areas through a constitutional order and has renamed it as the defacto province of Gilgit-Baltistan. The ceremonial head is the Governor ghazanfar ali shah, who is the constitutional head of provincial government, assisted an executive Chief Minister fatah ali khan and a council of ministers.

Administered by a tailor-made political and local government system. The local government system is based on a Legislative Council (Provincial Assembly), elected by people in all six districts through voting, headed by a speaker. Technocrats and women members are later elected/selected...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from