Girolamo Abos

to get instant updates about 'Girolamo Abos' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Girolamo Abos, last name also given Avos or d'Avossa and baptized Geronimo Abos (16 November 1715 – May 1760), was a Maltese-Italian composer of both operas and church music.

Born in Valletta, Malta, Abos studied under Leonardo Leo and Francesco Durante in Naples. In 1756, he became Maestro al Cembalo (Director of Music) at the Italian Theatre in London. In 1758 he returned to Italy as a teacher at the Conservatorio della Pietà de' Turchini in Naples, where Giovanni Paisiello was one of his pupils. He wrote 14 operas for the opera houses in Naples, Rome, and London, of which Tito Manlio (Naples, 1751) was most successful. After 1758 he composed a good deal of church music, including seven masses and several litanies. He died in Naples.

List of operas composed by Abos

  • Le due zingare simili (1742, Naples)
  • Le furbiere di Spilletto (1744, Florence)
  • La serva padrona (1744, Naples)
  • La moglie gelosa (1745, Naples)
  • Artaserse (1746, Venice)
  • Pelopida (1747, Rome)
  • Alessandro nelle Indie (1747, Ancona)
  • Arianna e Teseo (1748, Rome)
  • Adriano in Siria (1750, Rome)
  • Tito Manlio (1751, Naples)
  • Erifile (1752, Rome)
  • Lucio Vero o sia Il vologeso (1752, Naples)
  • Medo (?, Turin)
  • Andromeda (?)


External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from