Glasgow Hawks

to get instant updates about 'Glasgow Hawks' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Glasgow Hawks are an amateur rugby union team in Glasgow, Scotland. They were Premiership Division One champions for 3 consecutive seasons from 2003/04 to 2005/06.

The short history of Glasgow Hawks RFC

In Paris on 27 August 1995 a meeting of the International Rugby Board declared that amateurism was no more.

At that time there were differing views as to whether Districts or Premier clubs in Scotland would take the game forward into the professional era and, with a number of top Glasgow players moving east, Glasgow rugby was looking extremely vulnerable.

It was suggested that hell would freeze over before Glasgow Academicals (1866) and GHK(1884) might merge but during season 1996/97 Brian Simmers decided it was worth looking at. After meetings with the SRU, Dunc Paterson, Bill Watson, Jim Telfer and Bill Hogg, and meetings with senior players from both clubs , Fergus and Murray Wallace, Walter Malcolm, Cammy Little, Gordon Mackay, Chas Afuakwah, Stuart Simmers , he produced a proposal for rugby at Anniesland which created a new club, Glasgow Hawks, but retained the "founder" clubs, Glasgow Academicals and GHK. Discussions had also taken place with West of Scotland to come on board but these did not progress. However the "W" in HAWKS still remains!

This initial structure was finalised with the help of Sandy Neilson(GHK), Lorne Crerar (GHK), Richard Eadie(GHK), Graham McKnight(GA), Sandy Bannerman(GAC), David Jerdan(GHK), Kenny Hamilton(GHK), David...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from