Goodwood Cup

to get instant updates about 'Goodwood Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Goodwood Cup is a Group 2 flat horse race in Great Britain which is open to thoroughbreds aged three years or older. It is run at Goodwood over a distance of 2 miles (3,219 metres), and it is scheduled to take place each year in late July or early August.


The first version of the event was established in 1808, and this was won on three separate occasions by Bucephalus. The trophy, a silver cup, was awarded permanently to the horse's owner after the third of these victories. The replacement trophy was a gold cup, and the inaugural running for this prize took place in 1812. The race was initially contested over 3 miles, but its distance was later set at 2 miles and 5 furlongs.

The Goodwood Cup was won by a number of foreign-bred horses in the mid-19th century. Early winners for France included Jouvence, Monarque and Flageolet, and the United States was represented by Starke. Perhaps the most notable overseas victory came from Kincsem, a Hungarian filly who remained unbeaten in a career of fifty-four races.

When the present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, the Goodwood Cup was classed at Group 2 level. It was relegated to Group 3 status in 1985. Due to the repositioning of the finishing post, the race's distance was cut by a furlong in 1990. It was reduced again the following year to its current length, 2 miles. The event was promoted back to Group 2 class in 1995.

The Goodwood Cup is one of Britain's leading contests for "stayers" – those...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from