Government of Pakistan

Government Of Pakistan

Government of Pakistan

to get instant updates about 'Government Of Pakistan' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Government of Pakistan () is a federal parliamentary system, with an indirectly-elected President as the Head of State and Commander in Chief of the Pakistani Armed Forces, and an indirectly-elected Prime Minister as the Head of Government. The President’s appointment and term are constitutionally independent of the Prime Minister’s term. On September 6, 2008, the Electoral College (composed of the Senate, the National Assembly, and the four Provincial Assemblies) chose Asif Ali Zardari as the eleventh President of Pakistan for a five-year term. The Prime Minister is usually the leader of the largest party in the National Assembly and is assisted by a cabinet of ministers drawn from both chambers of the federal legislature. The current Prime Minister is Yousaf Raza Gillani of the Pakistan Peoples Party, who took office on March 25, 2008.

Recent history

The National Assembly elections that were held in October 2002 had 91 women elected to its Parliament - the largest number and percentage of women in the parliament of any Muslim-majority country.

On November 3, 2007, President Musharraf suspended Pakistan's constitution by declaring a state of emergency.

In the general elections held in February 2008, the party of slain leader Benazir Bhutto, Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) won 123 seats in the National Assembly while the Pakistan Muslim League of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif won...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from