Greater Republic of Central America

Greater Republic Of Central America

Former Country
Former Country Less

Greater Republic of Central America

to get instant updates about 'Greater Republic Of Central America' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Greater Republic of Central America was a short-lived union between Honduras, Nicaragua, and El Salvador, lasting from 1896 to 1898. It was an attempt to revive the failed Federal Republic of Central America earlier in the century.

The three countries agreed to establish a union with the signing of the Treaty of Amapala on 20 June, 1895. On 15 September, 1896, after the countries had all ratified the treaty individually, the union was formally confirmed. The republic was rechristened the "United States of Central America" when its constitution came into effect on 1 November, 1898. The capital was to be located at the Honduran town of Amapala on the Gulf of Fonseca. The union was dissolved after General Tomás Regalado seized power in El Salvador on 21 November.

Before its dissolution, the Greater Republic established diplomatic relationships with the United States. Guatemala and Costa Rica both considered joining the union, but neither ultimately did.

See also

External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Country
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from