to get instant updates about 'Hankou' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Hankou () was one of the three cities whose merging formed modern-day Wuhan, the capital of the Hubei province, China. It stands north of the Han and Yangtze Rivers where the Han falls into the Yangtze. Hankou is connected by bridges to its former sister cities Hanyang (between Han and Yangtze) and Wuchang (on the south side of he Yangtze).

Hankou is the main port of Hubei province.


The city's name literally means "The Mouth of the Han", referring to its location on the north bank of the confluence of the Han and Yangtze Rivers. The name appears in a Tang Dynasty poem by Liu Changqing. Other historical names for the city include Xiakou (), Miankou (), and Lukou ().

Hankou used to have five colonial concessions from the United Kingdom, France, Russia, Germany and Japan. The German and Russian concessions were administered by the Chinese government after the First World War. The British left in 1927 during the Northern Expedition after the Chinese Kuomintang forces seized the multimillion dollar concession from them, refusing to hand it back to the British. The French and Japanese left after the Second World War.

On October 10, 1911, a revolution to establish the Republic of China and replace the Qing Dynasty led to the involvement of Hankou in the struggle between Hubei revolutionary forces and the Qing army, led by Yuan Shikai. ...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from