Hawke Cup

to get instant updates about 'Hawke Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Hawke Cup is a cricket competition for New Zealand's District Associations. Apart from 1910/11, 1912/13 and 2000/01 the competition has always been on a challenge basis. In order to win the Hawke Cup the challenger must beat the holder on their home ground. Teams from New Zealand's 4 "main centres", Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin have not usually competed for the Hawke Cup, although they did participate for the latter half of the 1990s. They were excluded again from the 2000/01 season. Since then, the team from Hamilton, the city at the centre of New Zealand's fourth largest urban area, has been the strongest team in the competition.

Recent history

At the end of the 2009/10 season the current holder was North Otago, the second smallest association in New Zealand.In its first defence of the 2010/11 season Otago Country (formerly Central Otago) beat North Otago to gain possession of the Hawke Cup. On February 13, 2011, Otago Country relinqueshed the cup in their first defence to three time winners Marlborough, losing by an innings and 171 runs at Molyneux Park, Alexandra.


Current players can only play a maximum of 3 Hawke Cup Challenge matches a season, and that is only for members of the team holding the Hawke Cup and defeating every challenger. Historically there have only been between 2 and 6 Hawke Cup Challenge matches every year for the holders, so it has been difficult for players to build much of a record unless they have been...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from