Hazaribagh district

Hazaribagh District

Hazaribagh district

to get instant updates about 'Hazaribagh District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Hazaribagh district () is one of the twenty-four districts of Jharkhand state, India, and Hazaribagh town is the district headquarters.

Origin of name

The district is named after its headquarters, the town of Hazaribagh. The name, Hazaribagh consists of two urdu words, hazar meaning "one thousand", and bagh meaning "garden" - so, the literal meaning of Hazaribagh is 'a city of one thousand gardens'.


The district is divided into two sub-divisions: Hazaribagh and Barhi. Hazaribagh sub-division comprises 11 blocks: Hazaribagh, Katkam Sandi, Bishnugarh, Barkagaon, Keredari, Ichak, Churchu, Daru, Tatijhariya, Katkambag and Dari. Barhi sub-division comprises 5 blocks: Padma, Barhi, Chauparan, Barkatha and Chalkusa.

There are 5 Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district: Barkatha, Barhi, Barkagaon, Mandu and Hazaribagh. All of these are part of Hazaribagh Lok Sabha constituency.


Hazaribagh city is 16 km away from a national park which is one of best national park of India. Now it is renamed as Hazaribagh Sanctuary. Mica and coal are the major minerals found in this district. This significant coal deposit reserves of this district include Charhi, Kuju Ghato Tand and Barkagaon or North Karnpura. the coal mines are the main source of livelihood for the residents of this district. People of this district are known to...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from