Hee Haw (EP)

Hee Haw (EP)

Album Less

Hee Haw (EP)

to get instant updates about 'Hee Haw (EP)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Hee Haw is the second release and first EP by the Australian post-punk band The Boys Next Door (later re-named The Birthday Party). The Hee Haw EP was released in 1979 by the independent label, Missing Link Records.


By 1978-9 The Boys Next Door were the most experienced and musically-mature of Melbourne’s punk and post-punk bands. The core members – Nick Cave, Mick Harvey, Phill Calvert and Tracy Pew – had been joined by Rowland S. Howard on guitar in 1978. The Boys Next Door released an album (Door, Door) on the Mushroom label in 1979 (recorded in separate sessions in mid-1978 and early 1979).

After the release of Door Door, The Boys Next Door transferred to the independent label, Missing Link Records, and took on Keith Glass as their manager. The tracks for the Hee Haw EP were recorded during July and August 1979 at Richmond Recorders in Melbourne, engineered by Tony Cohen. The five-track EP was released in December 1979. The artwork on the cover and insert sheet was done by Marcus Bergner.

The music

The Hee Haw EP represents a musical departure from the relatively conventional punk/pop songs on Door Door. The EP introduces a more abrasive, rhythmic and exploratory sound that was further developed when the band re-located to the UK (and changed their name to The Birthday Party).

Track listing

  1. "A Catholic Skin" (Nick Cave)
  2. "The Red Clock" (Rowland S.......
  3. ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from