Herald Sun Tour

Herald Sun Tour

Cycling Race
Cycling Race Less

Herald Sun Tour

to get instant updates about 'Herald Sun Tour' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Herald Sun Tour is an Australian professional bicycle race held in Melbourne and provincial Victoria sanctioned by the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI). The first tour was held in October 1952 as a six day event and it is held annually in October. It is named after the Herald Sun, Melbourne's only daily tabloid newspaper. It was originally known as the Sun Tour after The Sun News-Pictorial, and changed its name when the Sun merged with The Herald in 1990.


The first general classification winner was Keith Rowley, a Maffra sheep farmer, in a time of 42hr 57min 55sec. The first King of the Mountain and Sprint champion was Jack (John) McDonough from Coburg.

Australian cyclists dominated the first 30 editions of the race, before its status rose and began attacting overseas stars. By the year 2000 the race had shifted to October and Australia's cyclists racing in Europe began to compete in the race. The resulting rise in the event's standard saw the race become rated by the UCI for the first time in 2005.Several notable Australian cyclists have won the General classification including Stuart O'Grady in 2008, Baden Cooke in 2002, Neil Stephens in 1986, and Russell Mockridge in 1957.

The 2004 race was conducted from October 14 to 24, 2004 and involved 85 cyclists in seventeen teams of five. Thirteen stages were completed with a total distance of 1110.7 km, 119 intermediate sprints and 37 hill climbs, including the two category one climbs of Mount Baw Baw...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Cycling Race
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from