His Majesty's Dragon

His Majesty's Dragon

Book Less

His Majesty's Dragon

to get instant updates about 'His Majesty's Dragon' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

His Majesty's Dragon, published in the UK as Temeraire, is the first novel in the Temeraire alternate history/fantasy series by American author Naomi Novik first published in 2005.

His Majesty's Dragon won the 2007 Compton Crook Award for best novel in the Science Fiction/Fantasy genre during 2006 by a first time author in the genre.

The book was also nominated for the Hugo Award for Best Novel in 2007, but lost out to Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge.

Plot introduction

The story is set during an alternate history version of the Napoleonic Wars, in which dragons not only exist but are used as a staple of aerial warfare in Asia and Europe. The dragons of the story are portrayed as sentient and intelligent, capable of logical thought and human speech. The series centres primarily on events involving Temeraire (the titular dragon) and his handler, Will Laurence. The first book of the series centers on how Laurence, formerly a Captain in the Royal Navy, becomes Temeraire's handler, and their early training in preparation for battles against Napoleon's aerial fleet.

Plot summary

In the aftermath of an armed combat between the Reliant, a British warship, and a French ship, the crew of the Reliant find an unhatched dragon egg on board the French ship. William Laurence, captain of the Reliant, has the egg deposited on board, declaring it as a prize captured from the French.

On board the Reliant the egg hatches, revealing a young dragonet with an all-black hide. The dragonet refuses...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from