Hockey World Cup

Hockey World Cup

Sports League
Sports League Less

Hockey World Cup

to get instant updates about 'Hockey World Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Hockey World Cup is an international field hockey competition organised by the International Hockey Federation . The tournament was started in 1971. It is held every four years, bridging the four years between the Summer Olympics.

There is also a Women's Hockey World Cup, which has been held since 1974 and was organised by the International Federation of Women's Hockey Associations (IFWHA) until 1981, when the governing bodies merged into the current International Hockey Federation in 1982.

Five countries have dominated the event's history. Pakistan is the most successful team, having won the tournament four times. The Netherlands have won three titles, and Germany and Australia have each won two titles. India won the tournament once.

The 2010 Hockey World Cup was held in India from February 28 to March 13 at New Delhi's Dhyan Chand National Stadium. Australia defeated Germany 2–1 in the final, to win their second World Cup title. The 2014 tournament will be held in The Hague, Netherlands from June 2–14, 2014.


The Hockey World Cup was first conceived by Pakistan's Air Marshal Nur Khan. He proposed his idea to the FIH under the name of Patrick Rowley, the first editor of World Hockey magazine. Their idea was approved on October 26, 1969, and adopted by the FIH Council at a meeting in Brussels on April 12, 1970. The FIH decided that the inaugural World Cup would be held in October 1971, in...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Sports League
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from