Hong Kong District Council election

Hong Kong District Council Election

Hong Kong District Council election

to get instant updates about 'Hong Kong District Council Election' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

District Council elections () are held in Hong Kong at 4-year intervals when the 18 district council, totalling 405 elected members (as at 2007) require renewal. The last election was in 18 November 2007. The elections are conducted by simple plurality, with an average constituency having a population of 17 000 people. The councils range from 11 to 37 elected members, depending on the particular district's population. The Chief Executive may appoint up to a prescribed number of members to each council, totalling 102. The councils in the New Territories also have 27 ex-officio members who are chairpersons of rural committees.

Hong Kong Island

Kowloon (including New Kowloon)

New Territories (excluding New Kowloon)

Each of the districts represents the area named in its name and its environs. There were historically 19 districts but Mong Kok District was subsequently merged with Yau Tsim District into Yau Tsim Mong District, an interesting name which incorporates words from three major areas of the district into its name.

External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from