Honolulu Symphony

Honolulu Symphony

Honolulu Symphony

to get instant updates about 'Honolulu Symphony' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Honolulu Symphony, also known as the Honolulu Symphony Orchestra, was founded in 1900. The Honolulu Symphony is the oldest symphony orchestra in the USA west of the Rocky Mountains. Originally housed in a clubhouse on the slopes of Punchbowl, the Honolulu Symphony now plays from the Neal S. Blaisdell Concert Hall in downtown Honolulu.

The Honolulu Symphony has undergone a series of transformations over the course of its first century, responding to the challenges and opportunities of the times. It has endured two World Wars, the Great Depression, financial crises, and changing musical and cultural fashions.

From 1996 to 2004, the Honolulu Symphony was under the direction of conductor Samuel Wong. Previous music directors include Fritz Hart (1937–49), George Barati, Robert La Marchina, Donald Johanos (1979–94) and JoAnn Falletta. The symphony also performs popular music under the direction of pops conductor Matt Catingub as the Honolulu Pops.

In August 2007, Andreas Delfs, current music director of the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, officially became principal conductor of the Honolulu Symphony. He will lead seven concerts per season in the orchestra's Halekulani Masterworks series.

On October 30, 2009, the Honolulu Symphony Society's board of directors voted to file for Chapter 11 protection. On November 6, the symphony announced the cancellation of concerts for the remainder of the 2009-2010 season and that it...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from