Hyundai Tournament of Champions

Hyundai Tournament Of Champions

Golf Tournament
Golf Tournament Less

Hyundai Tournament of Champions

to get instant updates about 'Hyundai Tournament Of Champions' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Hyundai Tournament of Champions is the opening event of golf's PGA Tour season. Founded as the Tournament of Champions in 1953, the field is restricted to golfers who won a tournament on the tour during the previous season.


The Hyundai Tournament of Champions is held during the first week of January and, since 1999, has been played over the Plantation Course at the Kapalua Resort near Lahaina on the island of Maui in Hawaii. Previous venues have been the Desert Inn Country Club in Las Vegas, Nevada, from the event's inception until 1966, and the Stardust Country Club, also in Las Vegas, in 1967 and 1968. For the following thirty years, it was played at La Costa Resort and Spa in Carlsbad, California, after which it moved to its current location in Hawaii.

The tournament has had several title sponsors, the first being Mutual of New York (MONY) between 1975 and 1990. After three years of sponsorship by Infiniti, German car maker Mercedes-Benz began a sixteen year association with the event and the Tournament of Champions name was dropped. In 2010 the tournament entered a new ten year agreement with Korean broadcasting company Seoul Broadcasting System, with the tournament being renamed as the SBS Championship. Hyundai took over title sponsorship in 2011 with SBS remaining a sponsor.


Note: Green highlight indicates scoring records.<br><sup>PO</sup> - won in...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Golf Tournament
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from