Imperial Tombs of the Ming and Qing Dynasties

Imperial Tombs Of The Ming And Qing Dynasties

World Heritage Site
World Heritage Site Less

Imperial Tombs of the Ming and Qing Dynasties

to get instant updates about 'Imperial Tombs Of The Ming And Qing Dynasties' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Imperial Tombs of the Ming and Qing Dynasties (明清皇家陵寝) is the designation under which the UNESCO has included several tombs and burial complexes into the list of World Heritage Sites. These tombs date from the Ming and Qing dynasties of China.

Tombs were included in the list in 2000, 2003 and 2004. The property now includes the following tombs or tomb groups:

2004 additions

The three Imperial Tombs of the Qing Dynasty in Liaoning Province include the Yongling Tomb, the Fuling Tomb, and the Zhaoling Tomb, all built in the 17th century. Constructed for the founding emperors of the Qing Dynasty and their ancestors, the tombs follow the precepts of traditional Chinese geomancy and fengshui theory. They feature rich decoration of stone statues and carvings and tiles with dragon motifs, illustrating the development of the funerary architecture of the Qing Dynasty. The three tomb complexes, and their numerous edifices, combine traditions inherited from previous dynasties and new features of Manchu culture.

External links

  • on the World Heritage Sites website
  • (for the Liaoning Tombs, January 22, 2003)
  • (October 29, 2004 - see p. 38, 39)
  • (for the sites listed in 2000 and 2003)

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


World Heritage Site
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from