Independents Group

Independents Group

Independents Group

to get instant updates about 'Independents Group' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Independents Group were a short-lived Australian political party operating in the Australian Capital Territory. They briefly served as part of the Alliance government, alongside the Liberal Party of Australia and Residents Rally.

When the 1989 election was held, the No Self-Government Party emerged as the larger of the two anti-self-government groups in the Assembly, electing three members, Craig Duby, Carmel Maher and David Prowse. However, unlike Dennis Stevenson's Abolish Self-Government Coalition, the No Self-Government Party's focus soon began to change from their original single-issue basis.

In late 1989, Residents Rally, who were supporting the Follett Labor government, began discussions aimed at forming a coalition government with the Liberals, but the combined parties did not have the necessary seats in the Assembly. They then turned to the No Self-Government Party, who accepted the offer. However, as opposition to self-government itself was a core basis of their party, and it would have been seen as somewhat odd for them to then join a government, Duby, Maher and Prowse disbanded the party, and reformed as the Independents Group. The new party then became the third member of the Alliance government, and Duby, the old party's former leader, became Minister for Urban Services.

Whilst Duby was a vocal member of the government, and was often heard in the Assembly and media, both Prowse and Maher tended to be less significant players in ACT politics. Nevertheless, the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from