India Meteorological Department

India Meteorological Department

India Meteorological Department

to get instant updates about 'India Meteorological Department' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The India Meteorological Department (IMD), also referred to as the Met Office, is a Government of India organisation that is responsible for meteorological observations, weather forecasts, and detecting earthquakes. The IMD is also the Regional Specialized Meteorological Center responsible for forecasting tropical cyclones in the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal. It is located in India's capital, New Delhi.


The department is headed by a Director General of Meteorology. There are a total of four junior Additional Directors General at New Delhi and one at Pune. Additionally, there are twenty Deputy Directors General, ten of them located in New Delhi.

There are seven regional meteorological centres, each under a Deputy Director General. The seven regional centres are located in Mumbai (Bombay), Chennai (Madras), New Delhi, Kolkata (Calcutta), Nagpur , Machilipatnam (bandar) and Guwahati. There are also sub-units in each state capitals.


After a tropical cyclone hit Calcutta in 1864, and the subsequent famines in 1866 and 1871 due to the failure of the monsoons, it was decided to set up a meteorological organisation under one roof.

H.F. Blanford was appointed the first meteorological reporter to the government of India. In May 1889, Sir John Eliot was appointed as the first Director General of Observatories in the erstwhile capital Calcutta. The headquarters were shifted to Shimla, Pune and then to New Delhi.


The meteorological department...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from