Indian general elections 1977–1999

Indian General Elections 1977–1999

Indian general elections 1977–1999

to get instant updates about 'Indian General Elections 1977–1999' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The following are the results of the Indian general election from 1977 to 1999.

Parties are listed in the following order:
  • first listed are parties registered as National parties,
  • second listed parties registered as State parties,
  • third are unrecognized parties that won seats.
  • Unrecognized parties that failed to win any seats are not listed.

1999 general elections

The 13th Indian General Elections were held a few months after the Kargil War. The elections became necessary when the then prime minister Atal Behari Vajpayee lost a no-confidence vote in Lok Sabha (the Indian lower house of parliament) earlier that year and the opposition failed to unite to form the next government. Thus shortly after the no confidence motion, President K. R. Narayanan dissolved the Lok Sabha. Atal Behari Vajpayee remained a caretaker prime minister till the elections were held later that year. His role as de facto Head of State during the Kargil war helped the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) attain a majority in the election and reinstating him as Prime Minister. The 13th Lok Sabha election is of historical importance as it was the first time a united front of parties managed to attain a majority and formed a government that lasted a full term of five years. Thus ending a period of perceived political instability at the Center that was marked by three general elections held in as many years.

<table width=60% border="0" align="center"><tr><td...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from