Indian National Congress (Urs)

Indian National Congress (Urs)

Indian National Congress (Urs)

to get instant updates about 'Indian National Congress (Urs)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Indian National Congress (Urs) was a breakaway faction of the Congress (I) led by D. Devraj Urs. It broke away from the parent party in 1978 following Indira Gandhi's drubbing in the 1977 General Elections. Urs took with him many legislators from Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra and Goa including future Union Ministers and Chief Ministers, Yashwantrao Chavan, Kasu Brahmananda Reddy, A.K. Antony, Sharad Pawar, Priyaranjan Das Munshi and K.P. Unnikrishnan.

Subsequently Devaraj Urs joined Janata Party; Yashwantrao Chavan, Brahmananda Reddy, and Chidambaram Subramaniam joined Congress (Indira); and A.K. Antony split from Congress (Urs) to form Congress in Kerala. When Sharad Pawar took over the party presidency in October 1981, the name of the party was changed to Indian Congress Andersen, Walter K.. India in 1981: Stronger Political Authority and Social Tension, published in Asian Survey, Vol. 22, No. 2, A Survey of Asia in 1981: Part II (Feb., 1982), pp. 119-135


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from