Interregnum (England)

Interregnum (England)

Interregnum (England)

to get instant updates about 'Interregnum (England)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The English Interregnum was the period of parliamentary and military rule by the Lord Protector Oliver Cromwell under the Commonwealth of England after the English Civil War. It began with the overthrow, and execution, of Charles I in January 1649,In Scotland where Charles II was proclaimed King of Scots in February 1649, the period de facto began with the defeat of Charles II at the Battle of Worcester in September 1651, see the article Tender of Union for details and ended with the restoration of Charles II on May 29, 1660.

This era in English history can be divided into four periods.
  1. The first period of the Commonwealth of England from 1649 until 1653
  2. The Protectorate under Oliver Cromwell from 1653 to 1658
  3. The Protectorate under Richard Cromwell from 1658 to 1659
  4. The second period of the Commonwealth of England from 1659 until 1660

Life during the Interregnum

After the Parliamentarian victory in the Civil War, the Puritan views of the majority of Parliament and its supporters began to be imposed on the rest of the country. The Puritans advocated an austere lifestyle and restricted what they saw as the excesses of the previous regime. Most prominently, holidays such as Christmas and Easter were suppressed. Pastimes such as the theatre and gambling were also banned. However, some forms of art that were thought to be 'virtuous', such as opera, were encouraged. These changes are often credited to Oliver Cromwell, though they were...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from