Iowa Energy

to get instant updates about 'Iowa Energy' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Iowa Energy are a 2007-08 expansion team of the NBA Development League, of which they are the current defending champions. They play their home games at the Wells Fargo Arena at Iowa Events Center.

Former Brighton Bears coach Nick Nurse is the team's head coach.


The team initially held a "Name the Team" contest, where the choices were Corncobs, Maize, River Rats, Scarecrows, and Thoroughbreds. However, the team later announced that, because of general fan dislike, none of these names would be the team name. The team name, Iowa Energy, and the logo were announced on June 29, 2007.

On November 23, they won their first-ever game, a 101-99 win at Dakota. They defeated Albuquerque, 101-98, in their inaugural home game in front of a league-record 8,842 fans. They later broke that record in the Game 2 2010-2011 NBA D-League Finals with a record attendance 14,036 fans.

For their second season, they dropped the Miami Heat as their affiliate, replacing them with the Phoenix Suns.

The 2009-10 squad set a new league record with 37 regular season victories. They equaled this mark again in 2010-11.

They won their first championship in franchise history when they beat the Rio Grande Valley in 3 games in the 2010-2011 season.

At the beginning of the 2011-12 season, the Energy dropped the Phoenix Suns as their affiliate and added the New Orleans Hornets and the Washington Wizards.

Season By Season

Current roster

<!-- list of players --><!-- end list of...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from