Islands council areas of Scotland

Islands Council Areas Of Scotland

Islands council areas of Scotland

to get instant updates about 'Islands Council Areas Of Scotland' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

There were three islands council areas of Scotland:

The islands council areas were unitary council areas dating from 1975, created under the Local Government Act 1973 and notably the only unitary authorities created by the local government reforms of the 1970s in Great Britain; which generally applied a two-tier structure. They did not form districts within the regions of Scotland because their remoteness made it unviable. Hampton, W., Local Government and Urban Politics, (1991)

Unitary council areas were not created throughout the rest of Scotland until 1996, under the Local Government etc. Act 1994. In most of Scotland, from 1975 to 1996, local government areas consisted of regions and districts.

The islands areas are classed now as three of the 32 unitary local government council areas of Scotland.

The Orkney and Shetland areas were also the areas of county councils which were abolished in 1975. The Western Isles area combined areas which were previously within the county council areas of Ross and Cromarty and Inverness-shire.


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from