Isle of Wight (UK Parliament constituency)

Isle Of Wight (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

Isle of Wight (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Isle Of Wight (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Isle of Wight is a county constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Created by the Great Reform Act for the 1832 general election, it covers the whole of the Isle of Wight and elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first-past-the-post voting system.


The Isle of Wight forms a single constituency of the House of Commons. The constituency covers exactly the same land area as the ceremonial county of the Isle of Wight, and the area administered by the unitary authority, Isle of Wight Council.

With an electorate of 110,924 (). This is five times the size of the smallest electorate (Na h-Eileanan an Iar, formerly known as the Western Isles), despite the Isle of Wight having some of the same problems as an island constituency. Successive Boundary Commission have considered the possibility of splitting the island into two constituencies (or possibly having a constituency crossing the Solent onto the mainland) but with a distinct lack of local enthusiasm for either option it was felt that the island would be better represented by a single MP. One...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from