Jaffna District

Jaffna District

District Less

Jaffna District

to get instant updates about 'Jaffna District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Jaffna district ( Yāl̮ppāṇam, Yāpanaya) is one of the 25 administrative districts of Sri Lanka. The district is administered by a District Secretariat headed by a District Secretary (previously known as a Government Agent) appointed by the central government of Sri Lanka. The headquarters is located in Jaffna city. Parts of the district were transferred to newly created Mullaitivu district in September 1978. Kilinochchi district was carved out of the southern part of Jaffna district in February 1984.


The Jaffna district occupies the land that constituted the pre-colonial Jaffna kingdom. Important Hindu temples such as Nainativu Nagapoosani Amman Temple, Naguleswaram, Nallur Kanthaswamy temple, Maviddapuram kanthaswamy temple, Selvachannithy, Vallipuram and Buddhist Nagadweepa Vihara are located in the Jaffna District. At the time that Sri Lanka gained independence, Jaffna was one of the three districts located in the Northern Province. Parts of the Jaffna District were redistricted with the creation of the Kilinochchi and Mullaitivu districts.


Jaffna district is located in the far north of Sri Lanka in the Northern Province and occupies most of the Jaffna peninsula. It has an area of . It is...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from