Jewel in the Crown (album)

Jewel In The Crown (Album)

Album Less

Jewel in the Crown (album)

to get instant updates about 'Jewel In The Crown (Album)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Jewel In The Crown is a 1995 folk-rock album by Fairport Convention which is viewed by many as the best record produced by the line up which had been formed in 1985 for the one off project, Gladys' Leap. While few of the tracks were self-penned, it featured tracks from many of the band's favourite writers including Huw Williams, Ralph McTell and Julie Matthews.


Initially mixed by Fairport themselves and long-time collaborator Mark Tucker at the band's Woodworm Studios, six tracks were re-worked by the legendary producer Gus Dudgeon; and overall it's generally considered one of the most satisfying of Fairport's releases, post-Nine. It was also the last studio album recorded by the Nicol, Pegg, Mattacks, Allcock and Sanders line-up.

Track listing

  1. "Jewel in the Crown" (Julie Matthews) – 3:32
  2. "Slip Jigs and Reels" (Steve Tilston) – 4:52
  3. "A Surfeit of Lampreys" (Maartin Allcock) – 3;19
  4. "Kind Fortune" (Traditional, arranged by Fairport Convention) – 2:37
  5. "Diamonds and Gold" (Ben Bennion/Maartin Allcock) – 4:14
  6. "The Naked Highwayman" (Steve Tilston) – 4:32
  7. "The Islands" (Ralph McTell/Maartin Allcock) – 4:33
  8. "The Youngest Daughter" (Traditional, arranged by Maartin Allcock) – 2:06
  9. "London Danny" (Jez Lowe) – 3:50
  10. "Travelling by Steam" (Huw Williams) – 4:57
  11. "Travel by Steam" (Traditional, arranged by Ric Sanders) – 3:47
  12. ......
  13. ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from