John Porter Stakes

John Porter Stakes

John Porter Stakes

to get instant updates about 'John Porter Stakes' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The John Porter Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse race in Great Britain which is open to thoroughbreds aged four years or older. It is run at Newbury over a distance of 1 mile, 4 furlongs and 5 yards (2,419 metres), and it is scheduled to take place each year in April.

The event is named in honour of John Porter (1838–1922), a highly successful trainer who was a founder of Newbury Racecourse in 1905. It was established in 1928, and it was originally open to horses aged three or older. The minimum age was raised to four in 1949.

The John Porter Stakes is now sponsored by Dubai Duty Free, and its sponsored title currently promotes the company's Finest Surprise lottery.


<span style="font-size:90%">Most successful horse:
  • no horse has won this race more than once

Leading jockey (5 wins):
  • Pat EdderyRock Hopper (1991), Saddlers' Hall (1992), Right Win (1994), Sadian (1999), Lucido (2001)

Leading trainer (5 wins):
  • Sir Michael StouteRock Hopper (1991), Saddlers' Hall (1992), Whitewater Affair (1997), Maraahel (2007), Harbinger (2010)

Winners since 1980

<span style="font-size:85%"> The 2000 edition was run at Haydock Park over 1 mile, 3 furlongs and 200 yards.</span>

Earlier winners

<div style="font-size:90%; width:33%; float:left">
  • 1928: Ox and Ass
  • 1929: Silver Hussar
  • 1930: Wedding Favour
  • 1931: Birthday Book
  • 1932: Corn Belt
  • 1933: Sarum
  • 1934: Felicitation
  • 1935: Night Owl
  • ......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from