Joy Boughton

to get instant updates about 'Joy Boughton' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Christina Joyance Boughton (known as Joy) (14 June 1913 - 1963) was the daughter of English composer Rutland Boughton and artist Christina Walshe. She died in 1963 in tragic circumstances.

She was taught oboe by Léon Goossens and attended the Royal College of Music from 1929 to 1937 at which, for a short while before her death, she was a Professor of Oboe. It was to Joy that in 1951 the English composer Benjamin Britten dedicated his Six Metamorphoses after Ovid which she premiered at the Aldeburgh Festival in that year. She helped establish Britten's English Opera Group and together with John Francis (flute) and Millicent Silver (piano) became part of The Sylvan Trio.

In 1937, Joy gave the first performance of the Oboe Concerto written specially for her by Rutland Boughton at a concert in Oxford with the Boyd Neel String Orchestra. She was married to the theatre impressario Christopher Ede and they had two children, Robin and Penny. A concert in her memory was held at the RCM in April 1963.

Further details

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from