Kansas City Committee of 101 awards

Kansas City Committee Of 101 Awards

Kansas City Committee of 101 awards

to get instant updates about 'Kansas City Committee Of 101 Awards' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Kansas City Committee of 101 was founded by Jack Wheeler. The name was chosen because the membership was limited to 101 Chief's fans and cost $1,000 to join. The group began presenting its annual NFL awards in 1969. They started as NFL and AFL Awards. After the 1970 AFL-NFL merger, however, they have been awarded to the top AFC and NFC players and coaches. The "Committee of 101" is a national media committee of 101 sportswriters and sportscasters, who cover the NFL, and are asked to vote on the top offensive player, defensive player, and coach on each of the National Football League conferences, rather than the NFL as a whole.

The annual NFL 101 Awards, as they are known, purport to be the nation's only awards event dedicated exclusively to professional football.

The awards are handed out at an annual banquet in Kansas City, MO, and all proceeds from the 101 Banquet benefit the Chiefs Children’s Fund. This fund allocates monies to approximately 60 area youth-related agencies annually.

Offensive Player of the Year Awards

NFC Offensive Player of the Year<br />1969— Roman Gabriel, Los Angeles Rams<br />1970— John Brodie, San Francisco 49ers<br />1971— Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys<br />1972— Larry Brown, Washington Redskins<br />1973— John Hadl, Los Angeles Rams<br />1974— Chuck Foreman, Minnesota Vikings<br />1975— Fran Tarkenton, Minnesota Vikings<br />1976— Walter Payton, Chicago...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from