Karnatak University

Karnatak University

University Less

Karnatak University

to get instant updates about 'Karnatak University' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Karnatak University () established initially at Mumbai in 1949, the location was shifted to Dharwad in October, 1949 and Karnatak University had its official inauguration in March 1950. The campus spans 750 acres (3 kmĀ²). Dr. D. C. Pavate was the vice-chancellor of the university from 1954 to 1967. The rapid development of the institution is credited to him.

The university was also recognized with the "Potential for Excellence" by UGC (University Grants Commission of India). The university is the second oldest, after University of Mysore, in the state of Karnataka.

Dr. H.B. Walikar is the current Vice-Chancellor of the University.


Postgraduate Departments

Currently, the university has three faculties, viz., arts, science and Social Science. Medical Science and Engineering were also part of this faculty. However the Government of Karnataka established , Bangalore, Karnataka for Medical Science and Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belgaum, Karnataka for engineering.

Art departments

  • Institute of Kannada Studies
  • Department of Folklore
  • Department of English
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Foreign Languages
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Marathi
  • Department of Yoga Studies
  • Department of Music
  • Department of Kannada Research Institute

Science departments

  • Department of Applied Genetics
  • Department of Electronic
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from