Kathua district

to get instant updates about 'Kathua District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Kathua district is one of 22 administrative districts that comprise the state of Jammu and Kashmir in India. It is surrounded by Jammu to the northwest, the Doda and Udhampur districts to the north, the state of Himachal Pradesh to the east, Punjab to the south, and Pakistan's working boundary to the west. Its terrain is diverse, consisting of rich agricultural areas along the Punjab/Kashmir border, plains sweeping eastward to the foothills of the Himalaya, and a mountainous Pahari region in the east.

Kathua district is divided into 8 blocks:Bani, Barnoti, Basholi, Billawar, Duggan, Ghagwal, Hiranagar, Kathua and Lohai Malhar. It has approximately 587 villages.

The traditional language of Kathua is Dogri. The Pahari languages are prevalent in the mountainous area of the east. The principal media of education are English, Hindi, and Urdu.

In a Muslim majority state, Kathua, like the Jammu region, is overwhelmingly Hindu, Total Population is 550,084 (Census of India 2001), Hinduism practiced by 91%, Muslims 7% and Sikhs 2%.

A relatively safe regional pocket, Kathua was spared the decade-long insurrection sparked by the Khalistan separatist movement in Punjab that ended in the early 1990s, just to its south, and the ongoing Terrorism in Kashmir Valley further to the north, beginning in the 1980s.


Though there is no detailed and fully documented history of Kathua district. It is believed that Jodh Singh a Rajput of Andotra clan migrated from Hastinapur to Kathua...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from