Kavala (peripheral unit)

Kavala (Peripheral Unit)

Settlement Less

Kavala (peripheral unit)

to get instant updates about 'Kavala (Peripheral Unit)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Kavala () is one of the peripheral units of Greece. It is part of the Periphery of East Macedonia and Thrace. Its capital is the town of Kavala. Kavala peripheral unit is the easternmost within the region of Macedonia.


The Pangaio mountains, reaching 1,957 m, are situated in the west. The neighbouring peripheral units are Serres to the west, Drama to the north and Xanthi to the east. The river Nestos flows along the eastern border. Arable lands are located along the coastline, in the north and in the east.

The peripheral unit has a predominantly Mediterranean climate.


The peripheral unit Kavala is subdivided into 3 municipalities. These are (number as in the map in the infobox):


As a part of the 2011 Kallikratis government reform, the peripheral unit Kavala was created out of the former prefecture Kavala (). The prefecture also included the island of Thasos, which became a separate peripheral unit. At the same time, the municipalities were reorganised, according to the table below.

Thasos was and remained one municipality.


  • Province of Kavala - Kavala
  • Province of Pangaio - Eleftheroupoli
  • Province of Nestos - Chrysoupoli
  • Province of Thasos - Thasos
Note: Provinces no longer hold any legal status in Greece.


No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from