Kayes Region

Kayes Region

Region Less

Kayes Region

to get instant updates about 'Kayes Region' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Kayes Region is one of eight first level national subdivisions, called Regions in Mali. It is the first administrative area of Mali and covers an area of 120,760 km². Its capital is the town of Kayes.


The region of Kayes is bordered to the north by Mauritania, to the west by Senegal, to the south by Guinea and to the east by the region of Koulikoro.

In 2009 the region has a population of 1,996,812 inhabitants. Ethnic groups of the area include Soninké, Khassonkés, Malinkés, and Fulas (; ).

Several rivers cross the region: the Baoulé, the Bafing, and the Bakoy which join at the town of Bafoulabé to form the Sénégal River. The Falls of Félou (4 km of Kayes), the Falls of Gouina (100 km to the south-east of Kayes on the Sénégal River), Talari Gorges, Lake Magui and Lake Doro are located in the region.

At the Guinean border, the climate is rather wet, but becomes Sudanian and later Sahelian to the north.

The largest cities in the region are Kayes, Nioro du Sahel, Diéma, Yélimané, Sadiola, Bafoulabé, Kénébia and Kita.

The Bafing National Park and the Boucle du Baoulé National Park are located in the region.


Kayes is divided into...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from