King Edward VII and Queen Mary School (KEQMS)
is an HMC
Independent Co-educational school in Lytham St. Annes
The Lytham Schools Foundation was established in 1719 after a flood disaster in the town. In 1908, one hundred and eighty-nine years after the Foundation's initial formation, King Edward VII School was opened to provide an education for local boys. The opening of the girls' Queen Mary School followed in 1930.
The school boasts extensive sports grounds, including a new synthetic hockey pitch, top of the range computing facilities built in 2003, modern language laboratories, modern library and a sea view; it also has a reputation of excellence in sports and a thriving history of drama productions and has links with the Czech Republic
, with which exchange trips are frequently held.
King Edward School's motto was 'Sublimis Ab Unda', which is Latin for 'raised from the waves', in reference to the fact the school was funded by the aforementioned flood disaster. Queen Mary School's motto was 'Semper Fidelis, Semper Parata', which translates as 'Always Faithful, Always Prepared'. The two former schools each had a coat of arms, however despite the two schools being separate they shared the same governing body, which itself had a coat of arms, that consisted of the two schools' coats of arms impaled
. This coat of arms is now used for the combined school since the merger in 1999. The uniforms for both boys... Read More