Kingdom of Dalmatia

Kingdom Of Dalmatia

Former Country
Former Country Less

Kingdom of Dalmatia

to get instant updates about 'Kingdom Of Dalmatia' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Kingdom of Dalmatia (, ; ) was an administrative division (kingdom) of the Habsburg Monarchy from 1815 to 1918. Its capital was Zadar.


The Kingdom of Dalmatia was formed from territories of the Illyrian Provinces that the Habsburg Monarchy conquered from the French Empire in 1815. It remained a separate administrative division of the Habsburg Monarchy until 1918 when its territory - except Zadar, its territory and the island of Lastovo, annexed to Italy - became part of the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs and the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (later Kingdom of Yugoslavia). As a result of the Vidovdan Constitution (in 1921), the majority of the Kingdom was divided into the Split Oblast and Dubrovnik Oblast, with the Bay of Kotor being administratively split to the largely Montenegrin Zeta Oblast.


The 1880 Austrian census recorded following ethnic groups in the Kingdom:

The major cities were (1900):


The Roman Catholic archbishop had his seat in Zadar, while the diocese of Kotor, diocese of Hvar, diocese of Dubrovnik, diocese of Šibenik and diocese of Split were bishoprics. At the head of the Orthodox community stood the bishop of Zadar.

The use of Croatian-Slavonic liturgies written in the Glagolitic alphabet, a very ancient privilege of the Roman Catholics in Dalmatia...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Country
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from