Kingdom of Northern Lusitania

Kingdom Of Northern Lusitania

Kingdom of Northern Lusitania

to get instant updates about 'Kingdom Of Northern Lusitania' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Kingdom of Northern Lusitania was a kingdom proposed by Napoleon in 1807 for the Monarch of Etruria, Charles II of Parma, located in the North of Portugal.

In 1807 Portugal refused Napoleon's demand to accede to the Continental System of embargo against the United Kingdom. Napoleon, having signed the Treaty of Fontainebleau on October 27, 1807, with Spain, defined the occupation of Portugal, proposing that the country would be divided into three different States:
  • Kingdom of Northern Lusitania (in the north of Portugal, between the rivers Douro and Minho and including main cities as Porto and Braga; named after the Roman province of Lusitania).
  • Portugal (reduced to the region between the rivers Douro and Tagus, including the capital city of Lisbon; to be ruled directly by France).
  • Algarves (corresponding to all southern Portugal, south of the river Tagus, including the regions of the Algarve and Alentejo, to be ruled by the Spanish Duke Manuel de Godoy, with the title of Prince).

A French invasion under Marshal Junot followed, and the capital city of Lisbon was captured on 1 December 1807. British intervention in the Peninsular War, under Arthur Wellesley, 1st Duke of......
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from