to get instant updates about 'Kintail' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Kintail () is an area of mountains in the Northwest Highlands of Scotland. It consists of the mountains to the north of Glen Shiel and the A87 road between the heads of Loch Duich and Loch Cluanie; its boundaries, other than Glen Shiel, are generally taken to be the valleys of Strath Croe and Gleann Gaorsaic to the north and An Caorann Mòr to the east.


The area is known chiefly for the Five Sisters Of Kintail (Gaelic: Còig Peathraichean Chinn Tàile, although not a name derived from the Gaelic, it has individual names for each), a high ridge some 8 km (5 miles) long rising steeply from Glen Shiel to a maximum height of 1,067 metres (3,501 feet). The five distinctly pointed summits are a well known landmark and a popular hillwalking expedition. Three of the Five Sisters, which are all over 3,000 feet, are classified as full Munros, with the other two being subsidiary Munro tops. The ridge containing the Five Sisters continues unbroken to the east where it takes in a further three Munros, often known as the Brothers. Beinn Fhada (Ben Attow) is the other main mountain in the area.


Most of Kintail is owned by the National Trust for Scotland (NTS). The Trust's Kintail and Morvich estate covers 74 square kilometres (29 square miles) and includes the Falls of Glomach, one of the highest waterfalls in Great Britain. The estate was purchased for the NTS in 1944 by Percy Unna, the Scottish Mountaineering Club president...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from