Lahore High Court

Lahore High Court

Lahore High Court

to get instant updates about 'Lahore High Court' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Lahore High Court is based in Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan. It was established as a high court on March 21, 1919. The Lahore High Court has jurisdiction over Punjab. The High Court's principal seat is in Lahore, but there are benches in three other Pakistani cities: Rawalpindi, Multan and Bahawalpur.



Although there were predecessors to the Lahore High Court as early as 1850, the Court itself was not created until 1919. In 1919, King-Emperor George V issued a letters patent to create the court, and appointed the judges: six Puisne justices and one chief justice. The letters patent declared the Lahore High Court's jurisdiction over the Punjab and Delhi provinces. The 1935 Government of India Act made significant changes to the Lahore High Court. These included allowing the King-Emperor to set the number of judges and capping the age for a judge at sixty. The 1937 Government of India (High Court Judges) Order set the maximum number of judges for the Lahore High Court at fifteen and established the system of salary for these judges.

Partition of India

On August 15, 1947, the Partition of India into the Republic of India and Pakistan also split the Lahore High Court. The High Court (Punjab) Order of 1947 created a new High Court for East Punjab and left Lahore to govern the remaining Pakistani territory in its original jurisdiction. The Order left the powers afforded to the Court as they were, but gave the powers of appointment to...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from