Larne Grammar School

Larne Grammar School

UK School
UK School Less

Larne Grammar School

to get instant updates about 'Larne Grammar School' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Larne Grammar School is a co-education voluntary grammar school located in Larne, County Antrim, Northern Ireland. Founded in 1886 by Sir Edward Coey and John Crawford, it has around 760 pupils and 50 teaching staff.

Past Headmasters

R.M Jones (1888-1891)

William Dawson (1891-1900)

William Smyth Johnson (1901-1903)

James MacQuillan (1904-1914, 1918-1935, 1937)

John W. Darbyshire (1937-1943)

Ronald Henry Davies (1944-1950)

Joseph Alan Stewart (1950-1973)

D.J Thompson (1973-1989)

H.M Morrow (1989-2001)

John Wilson (2001-present)


Larne Grammar School was founded in 1886 by Sir Edward Coey and Mr. John Crawford. The trustees of the school were granted permission to site a school, beside the Rectory in 1885, at an annual rent of one shilling per year for ten thousand years. On Tuesday 10 April 1888, with the appointment of the school's first headmaster, Mr R.M. Jones M.A., the school opened its doors to the first pupils. However, for the following fifteen to twenty years the school struggled and was threatened with closure on many occasions.

By 1923 the Preparatory Department had opened and although the Grammar School had become an important aspect of Larne life, the school had made little progress, with few successes. Up to September 1935, Larne Grammar School had always been a boys' fee paying and boarding school. There had originally been two girls' schools in the town, but this was...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK School
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from